Exhausted… and Excited! :)

Did you think I forgot to write a post?? Nooo… 🙂 I’m here. (A little too late…)

I couldn’t write before. A busy day. Teaching, buying, driving, and solving my computer’s technical problems. And now I have some time to update my blog, before going to bed (Stitch has already fallen asleep, see photo).

Stitch sleeping (please note the little tongue out of his mouth! sooo cute!!)

Stitch sleeping (please note the little tongue out of his mouth! sooo cute!!)


So… As I’ve just said today has been a busy day. So busy I only could see Jim for one hour! (I went to his office to have lunch with him… :)). I’ve been trying to install a translation program on my computer all morning. This program is not for machine translation. It’s like a huge data base, where a translator stores all his/her translations, the equivalents, or technical terms he has found while working, and it helps the translator to finds those words or sentences he/she has already translated some time ago, next time they appear (and you don’t waste your time!). I’ve used this program some months ago when I was working at a translation firm, but I never had it on my computer. Now I have to install it, if I want to work as a freelance translator. It will save me a lot of time and work and besides, all translation firms want their freelancers work with this program. So I installed it.

Then I went to Jim’s office to have lunch and see him for at least one hour 😦 (I’ve missed you). But after that, I had to come home to start my private lessons. Today I worked till 8 pm, as private teacher. I ended exhausted. But I still had to buy some things, so I went out. When I arrived home, I phoned Jimmy (I missed him so much!). We talked and talked and then he suggested starting to look for a house… our OWN house… our future HOME. He proposed going on Friday to some neighbourhoods he has seen and found beautiful. I WAS OVER THE MOON! But… There’s a problem. Spain’s housing prices. A small house, with 2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, 1 toilet and a little garden (no garage, of course!) could be 250,000 euros (339,318 dollars). A seedy humble (and cheap) flat with the same number of rooms and without garden could be 150,000 euros ($203,663). I don’t know how housing prices are abroad, but I find them quite high (Spain’s average salary is 1,000 euros/month or 14,000 euros/year…). So I started expressing my concern about money, but he stopped me and told me everything was going to be alright. Jimmy is convinced we can do it. He may be right. He’s always right! I’m so excited! On Friday I’ll tell you what houses we found/saw…

PS: I apologize for any grammar/syntax mistake I may have made. I’m exhausted. 🙂

7 responses to “Exhausted… and Excited! :)

  1. translation software… it caught my attention cuz my bf’s a chinese – english freelance translator. he has a trans program in his computer but none like yours…would you mind sharing the software name to me? i’d really like to help him save more time.. after all, less time on work means more time with me. lol

    thanks a bunch and i think i’m in love with stitch! haha so cute. i got 7 hamsters at home. and my my~! it really is fun looking at how they look like when they sleep.. hahah

  2. 🙂 here is the software name: Trados 7. It works with Microsoft Word 2003, but it doesn’t with Word 2007. I had to uninstal Word 2007 and instal Word 2003 again, to be able to use Trados 7.
    7 hamsters! wow!
    I’m looking forward to read more about you!

  3. Thanks for the response chloe ^^ we’ve made a trans blog , sorta like an online portfolio. He’ll put his work and some samples here soon:
    http://projecttranslation.wordpress.com/

    thanks again for the trans info. 😉

    keep in touch

  4. You’re welcome! 🙂

    Keep in touch!

  5. I don’t know anything about translation software, but house buying is always exciting!!! You’re right, though—it seems SO expensive for an average income of 14,000 euros/year. I hope you are able to find something affordable!

  6. I hope so! I’ll tell you tomorrow!

    Chloe

  7. Great site this chloe86.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

Leave a Reply

