I’m back!

[UPDATE: you’ll find new photos and some little changes here… Some anecdotes coming soon! (next post)]

It’s a little late, but I think it is still Monday. So as I promised, here I am. Back from my grandparents’ village. Not too sad. But with some stories to tell and lots and LOTS of pictures to show you!

Actually I went to visit my relatives with the purpose of taking photos to everything I’ve always seen as “too boring and normal”, but that it may seem interesting to my foreigner readers. Things you’ll only find here, in little Andalusian villages.

I love where I live. But if there’s one thing I love more than this city (Seville) is Priego de Córdoba, the little Andalusian village where all my family comes from. My parents, my aunts and uncles, my grandparents, my great-grandparents. My roots.

This village is lovely. Peaceful, beautiful and calm. Trust me… or check it out!

Typical tile

Fuente del Rey, Priego de Córdoba (picture taken by Jimmy)
Fuente del Rey, Priego de Córdoba (picture taken by Jimmy)
interior courtyard (typical of Andalusian houses)
Interior courtyard (typical of Andalusian houses)

Bell tower

Bell tower

Now some pictures of Priego de Córdoba’s Holy Week! (because, although it’s ALMOST always a peaceful and quiet place, there is  here a small-scale Holy Week, with pasos and drums and trumpets… the exception that proves the rule ;))

Cristo de la Columna (Christ at the Column .-The Flagellation of Christ) By Alonso de Mena, 17th century

Cristo de la Columna (Christ at the Column .-The Flagellation of Christ) By Alonso de Mena, 17th century

Penitent {they are NOT the Ku Klux Klan; Spanish penitents aren't related in any way to the Ku Klux Klan}

Penitent {they are NOT the Ku Klux Klan; Spanish penitents aren't related in any way to the Ku Klux Klan}

I don't know if you can see the Virgin's face... It's not a good picture...

I don't know if you can see the Virgin's face... It's not a good picture...

damn drums...

damn drums...

Hornazo (it's a little chicken, with an Easter egg!) We always eat it on Good Friday.

Hornazo (it's a little chicken of unleavened bread, with an Easter egg!) We always eat it on Good Friday.

And… Now… Pictures of some members of my family!!


My little cousin Gabriela! She's 4 and I love her! :)

My little cousin Gabriela! She's 4 and I love her! 🙂

With my father and Jimmy

With my father and Jimmy

My maternal granma

My maternal grandma

I couldn’t take a photo of my grandmothers. They said they didn’t look pretty or weren’t well dressed {Humm… Excuses}.  So I found some old pictures of my grandma, when she was young {Didn’t she look like Tea Leoni?}

I love old black & white photos!! I find them so smart and chic!

Anyway, here you have a brief photographic report of my trip. Tomorrow I’ll post some of the strokes of genius and dialogues, which took place during my stay in Priego de Córdoba.

PS: Hope you had a wonderful Easter!

PS2: All the pictures of this post were uploaded from a pendrive, which was in the pocket of my jeans, which were in the washing machine!! Water, conditioner… I can’t believe this little thing still works!! Ha! My flash drive is the cleanest in the world!

6 responses to “I’m back!

  1. Yay, welcome back! So far the pictures look pretty—I can’t wait to see more! I never thought about wanting to go to Spain, but you are making me think I would really enjoy it!

  2. Thanks for the comment love! Your pictures are gorgeous! I especially love the chicken 🙂

  3. Great pictures. Spain looks like a really neat place!

  4. Thanks girls!
    🙂

  5. That chicken is so funny-looking! I’ve never seen anything like it. Your father looks very sophisticated, like a professor or a doctor. Also, those drums covered in fabric were different than anything I’ve ever seen.

    Thanks for sharing more pictures!

    • I suppose my father looks like that, because he’s a (Physics & Chemistry -ugh!) teacher 🙂 But I’ve never seen him sophisticated! Ha, ha! Thanks!
      I loved my chicken. It’s a pity I ate it… Now the little chicken is not more with us… RIP.

Leave a Reply

