English class

I love teaching. Why? Because I feel useful and I like sharing my knowledge.

But I must admit that I love teaching for other reasons. Today’s class is just one example.

Me: Do you know what “former” (adjective) means?

Student: [He looks at me, then looks at the book. He looks at me again…] Mmm… [He smiles. It seems he has just had an inspiration] Yeah! it has something to do with “granja” (farm), am I right?

Me: [I bite my tongue] So your answer is that “former” means “granjero” (fArmer), isn’t it?

Student: Yeah, definitely.

The sentence was “the former {or should I say “farmer”?} president and his wife spent the weekend in New York”. According to my student… El presidente granjero y su mujer pasaron el fin de semana en NY. LOL

Then we were talking {in English}, and my student said something strange.

Me: What have you just said?

Student: *******

Me: What’s that???

My student repeats the word.

Me: I still don’t understand. [I was starting to feel stupid…]

My student sighs and decides to write the word and show me how it is spelled.

Oooh, okay. BETWEEN. B-E-T-W-E-E-N.

Me: That’s “between”. B-E-T-W-E-E-N: between [/bituin/].

Student: Yeah, that’s what I said: ******* [/betuén/].

Yes, exactly the same.

2 responses to “English class

  1. Bahaha the joys of being a teacher!
    I love it!!

  2. Teaching is always a challenge. I had a teacher tell me “you teach yourself”… and they are right. I strive to help people learn how to learn so that they can teach themselves and enjoy learning even after they leave school.

Leave a Reply

