As I promised…

I’m going to talk about my family. You may think it will be boring. Well, maybe. But I think my family is quite entertaining. Let’s start:

Stitch:

Stitch, my ferret. Yeah, he is my family. Any problem? I think he is the sanest member of my family. And he is not human.

Stitch is the latest member to arrive to my family. And he has got used so well… He knows every corner of the flat, he knows where the “magic” water is (he loves drinking water from the sink, where he can play with everything… that is, my mom’s things: her brush, her curlers, her towels… ho ho!), he knows what he mustn’t do (and that’s why he must do it!), he loves stealing my shoes and, after playing with them, he puts them in a Stradivarius bag, he loves sleeping on my lap and licking my hands/arms every morning… and now the newest trick he has learned all by himself is to jump from the bathroom’s sink on my shoulder. That means “Come on, mom, I’ve just finished here. I don’t want  to drink more water. Let’s play”. And he is also a great techie! He has done things with my laptop I’ll never know how to do (or undo) them!

Stitch follows me wherever I go

Stitch follows me wherever I go

My mom:

She is a housewife now. But she was a teacher some years ago. Her friends describe her as a sweet woman. But I’m her daughter and I DO know her. I’ll tell you how she really is. She is forgetful. She is the most forgetful person I’ve ever met. But also a terrible gossip. And that’s worse. I think she has a special antenna in her head and that’s how she knows things. I don’t know how she can remember the names of almost all our neighbours. And I don’t know how she can hear me wishpering something to anyone else at the other end of the flat. When I want to ask for something, I usually turn to my dad. He is more understanding. I’ve just said “dad, could you…?” and then, she appears, with a big smile and her words “what are you talking about?”… I think she has a special ability or something. I can’t figure out how she can keep her ears open all day, and walk so stealthily… until she is behind you!! Maybe she is an alien… Who knows. But believe me, having such a gossip mother is not good. When I was a teenager and was phoning my friends, when you least expect it, she was there, listening. When I was writing an e-mail to some friend… there was a little head behing my shoulder, reading what I was writing. When I met Jimmy, she was the first reporter who interviewed me asking for any detail. Believe me, horrible. But after all, she’s a good mom and friend who was there to tell you all the latest neighbourhood’s gossip!

This is my mom. She is posing. So vain...

This is my mom. She is posing. So vain...

My dad:

He is a teacher. A Physics and Chemistry teacher. Yuck! We are quite different. He hates English, he loves scientific things, he loves opera… And though I said before he is an understanding person, he always disagrees with my decisions. It’s like a teenager. I mean, it is said that teenagers contradict what their parents tell them, isn’t it? Well, in my family, my dad has always contradicted me. Seriously. I wanted to study English. He said “No, you better study Translation“. I wanted to study Arabic. He said “No, you should study German“. I wanted to study Japanese. And he said “No, Chinese is the future“. I wanted to buy a ferret. He said “ARE YOU CRAZYYY????!!!!“. And after that, he said “No“. See? He’s always contradicting me. Like a teenager. Then when I do the opposite, he accepts my decisions with resignation. I’ll be always be the black sheep. But still he loves me. And I love him.

He looks serious... But he is hilarious!

He looks serious... But he is hilarious!

My brother and his birds:

I can’t describe my brother, without his birds. His life is about Medicine, his plants and his birds. That’s all. Mmm. Oh, I forgot the most important thing: he is always needling me. So his life is about Medicine, his plants, his birds and needling me. Every word I say, my brother goes with some sarcastic comment. Every thing I do, there he goes with some joke. From my parent’s point of view, he is the best. And I don’t blame them. They are right. He is brilliant. He is nice (not always),  he has done whatever they wished. He has followed the “right path”. It’s okay. Because he thinks I’m better than him, and I think he’s better than me. He supports me and I support him. Always. Even when I launched  a toy baby trolley against a wall with my 6-year-old brother in it. Or when I kidnapped his Action Man and made it up. Or when I wanted my ferret to become friend of his cockatiel and lovebirds. And Stitch wanted to hunt them. Or when I… Humm I better shut up. Enough examples for now.


I could be writing about my family for hours. But it’s 1:00 am and I’m falling asleep. I promise to write more about them tomorrow, on this same post. Stay tuned!!

One response to “As I promised…

  1. I love how strong a person you are Chloe! Never backing down no matter what!!!

    Okay I think your mom and I would get along quite well!! I”m like the Queen of Gossip! (But I try to be nice about it.)

    And I’m sorry but I still think your ferret is disgusting. But he’s your pet, not mine. So if you like it, that’s all that matters!

Leave a Reply

