Superstitions

I’ve never considered  myself a superstitious person. But maybe I’m. Just a little. Well, a little little… much. Or just a LOT.

The fact is that there are lots of superstitions, and many are universal. And there are many people who are superstitious. But I always found it funny… and ridiculous.

When I was 17, I had a friend (my best friend) who was ver VERY superstitious. Extremely superstitious. One day I opened my umbrella in class. Accidentally, of course. I never imagined the scale of her belief in supertitions. When she saw my umbrella, opened, indoors… she started to shout hysterically and run away. I laughed out loud.  I couldn’t believe someone could be afraid of an umbrella. She told me I would be very unlucky… but it didn’t bring me bad luck! To be honest, I was pretty lucky. Though my friend was used to be very unlucky…


I never believed that opening an umbrella indoors, spilling salt, or breaking a mirror could bring bad luck. {Well, it depends. If I spill some salt or break a mirror, maybe my mom gets really angry. And that could be considered bad luck. So from that perspective, yes, breaking a mirror and spilling salt bring bad luck. At least, for me and while I live with my parents…}

Anyway, despite these isolated facts, I don’t really believe these things bring bad luck. Nor walking under a ladder, number 13, black cats… But I have created my own superstition instead. And I’ll tell you. But you must promise not to laugh at me. Please. {I know you will laugh…}

Okay, I’ll start from the beginning. I was in my 3rd year of college. One winter day, I was wearing some cute socks. I loved that socks. They were pink. And I had an aweful day. I thought someone had given me the evil eye, or something. The following week, I decided to wear the same socks, because I needed to wear something I liked and made me feel happy, since it was a cold, rainy, cloudy, ugly day. So I wore them. My pink socks. So cute… Until I came home that night, soaked to the skin, my shoes flooded, and my pink socks drenched. It was raining all day, and the campus was flooded. And my car was parked in the middle of a recently created “lake”. Great day. I still thought it was just a bad day. Then I decided to wear those socks the same day I had one of the most important exams of my degree. I don’t think it’s necessary to tell you how the exam went… 😦

And that’s when I realized. My dear socks. Those cute pink socks… ungrateful evils!! I loved my pink socks so much, and they brought me bad luck! Since then I’ve avoided wearing them. And that’s how I became superstitious! I have some good luck socks in a drawer and some cursed ones, in another. Ridiculous, I know. *sigh*

And you? Are you superstitious? Do you have any amulet/talisman/charm? Do you have any anecdote?

2 responses to “Superstitions

  1. RatalieNose, I know you love this guy, Chris Pine… So this picture (Just my luck) is for you! 😉

  2. Bahaha! I was gonna tell you how happy it made me to see his beautiful face!!! You’re so good to me!!!
    Well, I don’t really have superstitions….well I do have good luck hair….if my hair is curled and I perform somewhere then I’ll do better than if my hair wasn’t curled….but that could just be in my head…who knows?

Leave a Reply

